Mount Batur - Reisverslag uit Kintamani, Indonesië van Beate Lubs - WaarBenJij.nu Mount Batur - Reisverslag uit Kintamani, Indonesië van Beate Lubs - WaarBenJij.nu

Mount Batur

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Beate

31 Maart 2016 | Indonesië, Kintamani

Getting up at 2 am was harder than I thought.. It was so hot that night so I couldn't sleep very well anyways. We met our group and drove to the Volcano. The road was so bumpy that sleeping in the car was also not an option :/
After 1 hour we arrived at the foot of the Mountain (called Mount Batur btw) we met our two guides who gave us a flashlight and then we walked. At the first part I didn't need my jacket at all it was very hot! When we left the trees behind us it started to get cold and the air was much better. But also the road got tougher we had to climb a little. Hiking in the dark was less hard than expected, but still very intense. At the halfway point I got nervous that I wouldn't make it to the top before sunrise. So my guide let me go with another group. Not a good idea... I lost the group and then there was this big group of Italians behind me who walked super fast and didn't take any breaks. I was so exhausted and so happy when I made it to the top. But after watching the sunrise and taking some pictures I started to feel nauseous. My guide led me to a man who told me to sit down and started rubbing my hand, pushing pressure points. I instantly felt better! But I couldn't eat yet.
Suddenly some monkeys appeared out of nowhere and stole some food. It was so funny to see them all the way up the mountain!
After I felt better the guide showed me the hot steam that comes out of the volcano. It was so hot that they cook their eggs up there! Really nice since it is pretty cold up there.
We went back down which was easier than up of course, although the chance to fall was a lot higher this time. Then we stopped at a viewpoint and I found out that we were looking at Mount Batur before we went on our cycling trip! And that the volcano had bursted out in 1996 and 2000. The damage 1996 left was this visible around it. We also saw a rainbow!
It was 10 in the morning when we came back to the house, a really bizarre feeling. So hiking an active volcano, I can add that to my things I've done.
In the evening we met up with a few people from Nusa Penida, really cool to see them again! Tomorrow is the last full day, Saturday Im going to Airport already. I hope I can fit everything in my suitcase :')

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Indonesië, Kintamani

Indonesië

Vrijwilligers werk

Recente Reisverslagen:

08 April 2016

Update Java

05 April 2016

Sukabumi

02 April 2016

Last Bali day

31 Maart 2016

Mount Batur

30 Maart 2016

Rafting
Beate

Blog over mijn reis naar Indonesië 6-3 tot 11-3 Bali, Ubud 11-3 tot 2-4 Nusa Penida 2-4 tot 30-4 Cikanaga, Java

Actief sinds 07 Maart 2016
Verslag gelezen: 159
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5389

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Maart 2016 - 30 April 2016

Indonesië

Landen bezocht: